Page started: Jan 3rd, 2018   Last updated: April 16th, 2018

The Hugo Winners

I first heard of the Hugo awards decades ago, while reading Isaac Asimov's Foundation trilogy, I think. If you're not familiar, they are annual awards named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of science fiction magazine Amazing Stories and given to the year's best written works of science fiction and fantasy, as voted by the World Science Fiction Society.
My pile of Hugo winners as of January 2018 My pile of Hugo winners as of January, 2018

The idea that there was an "official" list of the best sci-fi novels for each year intrigued the compulsive collector in me. For years I've been thinking of tracking down and reading the whole list (not necessarily in chronological order), and at some point in 2017 I finally started the quest.

Over the holidays as 2017 became 2018, I decided to put together this web page to track my progress and write "reviews" (or at least opinions and thoughts) of each book. This was partially inspired by an interview I heard on NPR with a woman who published what she called her "Book of Books", a log of reviews she'd written over the years of every book she'd ever read. Sounded like an interesting idea, and it coincided well with this Hugo quest, and thus this web page was born.

I imagine the serious, hard-core sci-fi readers will be laughing themselves silly over my scribblings (or be deeply offended that I didn't really like some of these books, especially some of the older ones), but that's just a risk I'll have to take.

NOTE: In order to save space on the page, all reviews are initially collapsed. To expand them, click on the book cover image. Click again to re-collapse the review.

ALSO NOTE: There are SPOILERS GALORE below. So if you're thinking of reading one of these books and don't want to know anything about it in advance, DON'T READ the review of that book. You've been warned.

ALSO ALSO NOTE: As of this writing (January 2018), this page is still in a very skeletal state. It'll get filled in as I read more of the books.

Now, without further ado, let's get to the list...

The Once and Future King cover

1939 - T. H. White, The Sword in the Stone (awarded 2014)

Originally read sometime in the late 1980s or early 1990s, re-read summer of 2017.

Slan cover

1941 - A. E. van Vogt, Slan (awarded 2016)

Read in September, 2017. Read the sequel, Slan Hunter January 20-22, 2018.

Foundation and Empire cover

1946 - Isaac Asimov, The Mule (awarded 1996)

Originally read sometime in the late 1980s or early 1990s, re-read in late 2014 or early 2015.

Four Frontiers cover

1951 - Robert Heinlein, Farmer in the Sky (awarded 2001)

Read in December, 2017.

The Demolished Man cover

1953 - Alfred Bester, The Demolished Man

Read in the first half of January, 2018.

Fahrenheit 451 cover

1954 - Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451 (awarded 2004)

Started re-reading this (see below) Feb 4th, 2018. Finished the novel Feb 8th, 2018. Finished the supplementary material (see below) Feb 11th, 2018.

The Second Golden Age of Science Fiction Megapack - Mark Clifton cover

1955 - Mark Clifton and Frank Riley, They'd Rather Be Right

Read from late December, 2017 into early January, 2018.

Double Star cover

1956 - Robert A. Heinlein, Double Star

Bought from Amazon as a three-book hardback compilation (see below). Read The Puppet Masters Jan 22-25th, 2018. Read Double Star Jan 30-Feb 1st, 2018. Read The Door Into Summer Feb 2-4th, 2018.

The Big Time cover

1958 - Friz Leiber, The Big Time

Read Feb 11-15th, 2018.

A Case Of Conscience cover

1959 - James Blish, A Case of Conscience

Read Feb 16th-21st, 2018.

Starship Troopers cover

1960 - Robert A. Heinlein, Starship Troopers

Read Feb 22nd - Mar 2nd, 2018.

A Canticle For Leibowitz cover

1961 - Walter M. Miller Jr, A Canticle for Leibowitz

Read Mar 2nd - 13th, 2018.

Stranger in a Strange Land cover

1962 - Robert A. Heinlein, Stranger in a Strange Land

Originally read back in the late 80s or early 90s. Read the "original uncut" version Mar 13-27th, 2018.

The Man in the High Castle cover

1963 - Philip K. Dick, The Man in the High Castle

Read around 2010 and 2015. Re-read for this Hugo project Mar 27th - Apr 1st, 2018.

Here Gather the Stars (aka Way Station) cover

1964 - Clifford D. Simak, Here Gather the Stars (aka Way Station)

Read April 1st-5th, 2018.

The Wanderer cover

1965 - Fritz Leiber, The Wanderer

I bought a nice used hardcover copy. Read April 5th-14th, 2018.

Dune cover

1966 (tie) - Frank Herbert, Dune

I read most of the Dune series in the 80s, then re-read the original book at some point, and then re-read the first six books again around 2014.

This Immortal cover

1966 (tie) - Roger Zelazny, This Immortal

Found a paperback copy but haven't started reading it yet.

The Moon is a Harsh Mistress cover

1967 - Robert A. Heinlein, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress

I found a fairly beat-up, used large format paperback copy at 2nd and Charles, but haven't read it yet.

Lord of Light cover

1968 - Roger Zelazny, Lord of Light

I found a used, fairly worn and yellowed paperback copy but haven't started reading it yet.

Stand on Zanzibar cover

1969 - John Brunner, Stand on Zanzibar

I haven't found a copy yet.

The Left Hand of Darkness cover

1970 - Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness

My daughter found me a fairly beat-up paperback copy on a display table of recommended reading at a used book store after I walked right past it at least five times. Read January 26th-30th, 2018.

Ringworld cover

1971 - Larry Niven, Ringworld

I bought a used paperback copy, haven't read it yet.

To Your Scattered Bodies Go cover

1972 - Philip José Farmer, To Your Scattered Bodies Go

I found a fairly nice large-format paperback copy, but haven't read it yet.

The Gods Themselves cover

1973 - Isaac Asimov, The Gods Themselves

I found a used paperback copy but haven't read it yet.

Rendezvous With Rama cover

1974 - Arthur C. Clarke, Rendezvous With Rama

I read this in the early 1990s.

The Dispossessed cover

1975 - Ursula K. Le Guin, The Dispossessed

I bought an expensive paperback copy, but haven't read it yet. Why are Le Guin's books so hard to find and so expensive once you do find them?

The Forever War cover

1976 - Joe Haldeman, The Forever War

I bought a used trade paperback edition that looks brand new, but haven't read it yet.

Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang cover

1977 - Kate Wilhelm, Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang

Read in December, 2015 into January, 2016.

Gateway cover

1978 - Frederik Pohl, Gateway

I bought a hardcover edition but haven't read it yet.

Dreamsnake cover

1979 - Vonda N. McIntyre, Dreamsnake

I bought a used paperback copy, but haven't read it yet.

The Hugo Winners Vol. 4 cover

Sidebar: The Hugo Winners, Vol. 4 1976-1979

Bought as a used hardcover book. Haven't read it yet.

The Fountains of Paradise cover

1980 - Arthur C. Clarke, The Fountains of Paradise

I bought a copy but haven't read it yet.

The Snow Queen cover

1981 - Joan D. Vinge, The Snow Queen

Found a nice used paperback copy but haven't read it yet.

Downbelow Station cover

1982 - C. J. Cherryh, Downbelow Station

I found a really beat-up, old hardback copy with a dust jacket that's torn in about a dozen places, but I haven't read it yet.

Foundation's Edge cover

1983 - Isaac Asimov, Foundation's Edge

I first read this not long after it came out, and more recently revisited it in early 2015 as part of a re-read of the entire Robot/Empire/Foundation series.

Startide Rising cover

1984 - David Brin, Startide Rising

I found a hardcover book that contains both this one and The Uplift War but haven't read either yet.

Neuromancer cover

1985 - William Gibson, Neuromancer

I bought a used paperback copy, but haven't read it yet.

The New Hugo Winners cover

Sidebar: The New Hugo Winners 1983-1985

Bought as a cheap used paperback. Haven't read it yet.

Ender's Game cover

1986 - Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game

I read this one sometime around 2012.

Speaker For the Dead cover

1987 - Orson Scott Card, Speaker For the Dead

I got this from the library and read it in late 2012 or early 2013.

The Uplift War cover

1988 - David Brin, The Uplift War

I found a hardcover book that contains both this one and Startide Rising but haven't read either yet.

Cyteen cover

1989 - C. J. Cherryh, Cyteen

I bought the three-volume version in paperback but haven't read it yet.

Hyperion cover

1990 - Dan Simmons, Hyperion

I bought a used paperback copy but haven't read it yet.

The Vor Game cover

1991 - Lois McMaster Bujold, The Vor Game

I found a fairly worn old paperback copy but haven't started reading it yet.

Barrayar cover

1992 - Louis McMaster Bujold, Barrayar

I found a paperback of Cordelia's Honor which includes this one but haven't read it yet.

A Fire Upon the Deep cover

1993 (tie) - Vernor Vinge, A Fire Upon the Deep

I found a good, used paperback copy but haven't read it yet.

Doomsday Book cover

1993 (tie) - Connie Willis, Doomsday Book

I bought a pretty nice used paperback copy, but haven't read it yet.

Green Mars cover

1994 - Kim Stanley Robinson, Green Mars

Have it in paperback but haven't read it yet.

Mirror Dance cover

1995 - Lois McMaster Bujold, Mirror Dance

I found a pretty good used paperback copy but haven't read it yet yet.

The Diamond Age cover

1996 - Neal Stephenson, The Diamond Age

I keep seeing various chunky hardcover books by Stephenson in used book stores, but haven't found a copy of The Diamond Age yet.

Blue Mars cover

1997 - Kim Stanley Robinson, Blue Mars

I have a decent hardcover copy but haven't started reading it yet.

Forever Peace cover

1998 - Joe Haldeman, Forever Peace

Found a good, used paperback copy but haven't started reading it yet.

To Say Nothing of the Dog cover

1999 - Connie Willis, To Say Nothing of the Dog

Found a used hardcover edition in fairly good condition but haven't read it yet.

A Deepness in the Sky cover

2000 - Verner Vinge, A Deepness in the Sky

I bought a used hardback edition of this in really nice condition, but haven't read it yet,

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire cover

2001 - J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

I've got my daughter's well-worn copy, but haven't read it yet.

American Gods cover

2002 - Neil Gaiman, American Gods

I found a used, slightly beat-up, large-format paperback copy. The same store had a nicer, newer looking copy but it was way more expensive so I went for the cheap one.

Hominids cover

2003 - Robert J. Sawyer, Hominids

I found a used paperback copy, but haven't read it yet.

Paladin of Souls cover

2004 - Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls

I found a nice, used hardcover copy but haven't read it yet.

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell cover

2005 - Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

I found a nice, used hardback copy, but haven't read it yet.

Spin cover

2006 - Robert Charles Wilson, Spin

I found a used paperback copy in good condition, but haven't read it yet.

Rainbows End cover

2007 - Vernor Vinge, Rainbows End

I found a pretty nice, used large-format paperback copy, but haven't read it yet.

The Yiddish Policemen's Union cover

2008 - Michael Chabon, The Yiddish Policemen's Union

Haven't found a copy of this one yet. For some reason, my daughter (who was very helpful in searching used book stores with me and found many of the books on this list) found the title of this one to be really funny.

The Graveyard Book cover

2009 - Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book

I haven't been able to find a copy yet.

The Windup Girl cover

2010 (tie) - Paolo Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl

I found a nice used large-format paperback copy. I haven't read it yet, but the owner of the store where I bought it said she really enjoyed it.

The City & the City cover

2010 (tie) - China Miéville, The City & The City

I haven't been able to find a copy yet.

Blackout/All Clear cover

2011 - Connie Willis, Blackout/All Clear

I haven't been able to find copies yet. (Apparently this is actually two books)

Among Others cover

2012 - Jo Walton, Among Others

I haven't been able to find a copy yet.

Redshirts cover

2013 - John Scalzi, Redshirts

I found a used, trade paperback copy in good condition but haven't read it yet.

Ancillary Justice cover

2014 - Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

First book of a trilogy. I found all three but haven't read them yet.

The Three-Body Problem cover

2015 - Cixin Liu (translated by Ken Liu), The Three-Body Problem

Yet another first book of a trilogy. I've found the first and third but not the second. Haven't read any of them yet.

The Fifth Season cover

2016 - N. K. Jemisin, The Fifth Season

I haven't found a copy yet.

The Obelisk Gate cover

2017 - N. K. Jemisin, The Obelisk Gate

I haven't found a copy yet.